Promoting Your Podcast!

There isn’t really a set way to promote your podcast. It depends on your type of podcast and your audience on how you should go about it. When it comes to social media, I don’t think there are guaranteed steps that show success but there are things you can try! Find what works for you and what people to respond to. I think it’s more about creating something that people want to be a part of and interact with. There isn’t a set format or rules you have to follow necessarily. Just be interesting and make someone’s click worth it!

 

Twitter: This is my favorite way to promote and one that I’ve seen some pretty cool results with. The cool thing about Twitter is that you can @mention someone or something that’s related to your podcast. For example: If you talk about a product/issue and include a #hashtag or @mention there are chances that the people you are talking about might see it. It’s effective if you’re talking about a specific person and include them in your tweet. You just might get a response or even a re-tweet!

 

Facebook: You have to have a Facebook….bottom line. Most podcasts use a FB page in place of an actual website which for the most part works. The good thing about Facebook is that you can have all your info right there and make some good looking posts to promote your podcast. You can add pictures with links and even tag some friends to help them reach more people. The only bad thing I would say is Facebook tries to encourage you to promote your posts in order to reach more people. It seems like this makes it harder to reach new people and sometimes even difficult to reach people who’ve already liked your page! But it’s good to have because it’s easy to give out and for people to find you on. Maybe you’ll have better luck with it that me!

 

Instagram: When you think of Instagram, you probably just think of pictures of your friend’s lunches or amateur photography. But more and more I’ve been seeing people use it to promote things and discover people based on their interests. I noticed I would get random likes when I would use certain #hastags. I started to mess around with these and ended up finding a way to get my podcast exposed to people I wouldn’t have found otherwise. I use Instagram to post a weekly promo for my show. Since instagram offers video, I’m able to upload a quick 15 second video promo of my podcast. This gives people a quick 15 sneak peek at what my episode is about. It’s still a new concept but I think you’ll start seeing more and more ads on Instagram. But that’s not a bad thing if it’s actually something fun to look at. I try to make my posts as visually appealing as possible.

 

Youtube: Anyway you can make your podcast has more visual aspects is a major plus! Find a way to make a cool video that fits your podcast. If someone happens to stumble on your video and thinks it’s cool, then they might check out your podcast to see some more from you. We have bands come one our show from time to time. If they do a performance for us, we’ll record it then throw it up on Youtube. If you link to the full episode in the video descrption, it’s a great way for someone to check out your podcast!

 

 

Promo Items: There are only so many people you can reach online when starting out. Sometimes it’s easier just to hit the streets and give away some physical items. I’ve made download cards and stickers to start. This is just fun to do! Someone is probably more likely to check out your podcast if you talk to them about it in person or even give them something for free. Word of mouth is probably the best way to promote!

 

photo

Some of our current promo items

 

 

 

Posted in Tutorial

Leave a comment

Follow me on Twitter
Additional Info
Podcast D.I.Y. is your source for information about starting and maintaining your podcast. This blog covers all areas of podcasting including everything from equipment, show prep, and technology. I also welcome any discussion and ideas you might have on any subject. My goal is to share what I know and learn from others as well!
April 2014
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930